Home Page

Areas of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage - EYFS

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape educational provision in early years. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

Prime Areas:

  •  Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  •  Communication and Language
  •  Physical Development


Staff will also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

Specific Area:

  •  Literacy
  •  Mathematics
  •  Knowledge of the World
  •  Expressive Arts and Design


We deliver learning for all of the areas through, purposeful play and learning experiences, with a balance of adult-led and child initiated activities.